jump to navigation

Ballpark soap opera March 28, 2010

Posted by jdoetkott in Sports.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Jealousy. Excitement. Intrigue. Mystery. Suspense.

Tomorrow’s episode of As The World Turns? No, but rather the medley of emotions that are flying through my head faster than a LaTroy Hawkins fastball. And just like Mr. Hawkins only had one pitch, I too have only one thing on my mind: watching baseball at Target Field.

The Minnesota Gophers baseball team christened the new Twins ballpark on Saturday morning, beginning what many hope to be a long and fruitful baseball tradition at the new stadium. And sadly, I was not there. Stuck in Iowa, I was forced to merely hear about the experience from my father, who was fortunate enough to be in attendance. Needless to say I am now sick with envy, filled with renewed excitement, and left to dream in agonizing anticipation about when I too may get to share in the experience.

From what I have heard, it is an amazing place, and why wouldn’t it be? With a strong Twins lineup entering the season and a wave of excitement building in Twins fans everywhere, the stadium was destined for greatness. I truly cannot wait until I can count myself among the many fans that from this day forward will bring a love for the Twins and the game of baseball to the bleachers of Target Field.

I think the Gophers player at the end of this superbly exciting video said it best, “Minnesota needs outdoor baseball. And we’ve been out it for what, twenty, thirty years. And now it’s back, and hopefully it stays for a very long time.”

Target Field

Comments»

1. Susan Whaley - May 28, 2010

Haha am I actually the only comment to this awesome read!


Leave a Reply

